Mommy is Going Bald and Quit Messing Up My Jams – Motherhood Updates Part 10

hair loss woman

Updates on Motherhood Part 10

I’m losing my hair. I mean I knew that the lush locks I grew during the pregnancy would go away eventually, but I thought it would be a gradual loss…My hair is coming out in clumps. I pull out a Furby size ball of hair from the shower drain each time I wash my hair. A few mornings ago I discovered a bald spot, just near the upper portion of my temple. I have become self-conscious of it and have tried to cover it up. I tried doing the comb over, but my husband is terrible about keeping my comb over in check. I’ll start catching a breeze over my bald patch and realize my hard work in the bathroom has come undone. So I have resorted to color matching. I bought some cheap foundation in the color “mocha” (to match my once mocha locks) I take a good teaspoon size amount and start patting it on. It looks pretty natural from far away, I mean I wouldn’t want anyone to double check my work, but it’s been doing the trick…until recently. You see the weather has been warming up and my once sweat-less head has become a heat box. I went for a walk the other day and when I stopped to talk to my neighbor, she had a confused look on her face. Finally she said “You have dark brown streaks running down your face.” I explained to her that I was trying out Halloween costume ideas early and this look is Indian Warrior Princess…I don’t think she bought it. Anyhow, now I’m constantly worried that my makeup pool around my hair line will run again. There are only so many excuses you can come up with. The last time it happened I told the cashier at Walmart the doctors have just came to the conclusion, that yes, I do in fact have Leprosy.  So between my shedding and Steve’s shedding my Roomba vacuum is losing its shit.

– Rowan is killing my music buzz. I’ll be in the car driving with him and all of the sudden my jams come on. “Apple Bottom JEANS and the BOOTS with the FUUURRR!!” Just as I’m reliving my young single days and reminiscing on how cool I was, I hear baby coos coming from the back seat. I look to my mirror only to see my son, giggling and laughing at my expense.

“What? No! Quit dancing, these are mommy’s jams! Not baby songs for Rowan dammit!” He laughs even more because my ticked off tone of voice sounds funny to him.

“Go to sleep… there play with your hands. This is me time Rowan!” He continues to giggle and coo (It’s sort of adorable how into it he is, but I remind myself – if I don’t set boundaries now, this kid will walk all over me)

“Fine kids bop it is then!” I turn it on…he gets quiet…

“The wheels on the bus go round and round…” I look to him in my mirror…fast asleep…lil’ jerk.

Leave a comment